Who are We
Polo in Toronto was played in the 1920’s and 30’s at Woodbine Racetrack and at the Armoury on Avenue Road. Polo activity ceased during the War years, but was revived in the late 1950’s when a group of equestrians, including Col. Michael Sifton, Jim Elder, Tom Gayford, Gary Smellie, and Major Kindersley (who had played in Toronto before the War), decided it would be a good arena game to play in the winter months when there was no other equestrian events taking place. By 1960 the Toronto Polo Club was re-instated in the United States Polo Association.
In 1965 Col. Michael Sifton purchased Fox Den Farm in Gormley, which in time has become the headquarters of the Toronto Polo Club as well as one of the best indoor polo facilities in North America. With the addition of outdoor fields at Fox Den Farm, members could now enjoy summer and winter polo. By 1969 membership had grown to 40 members.
Today, the Toronto Polo Club boasts a membership roster of over 70 playing members, as well as a strong group of social members. The Club has use of six outdoor fields, one outdoor arena, and an indoor arena. Polo is played year round at the Toronto Polo Club.